Magic!

A  gust of wind buffets us as the truck lumbers past. I tighten my grip on the drops and focus on Vinesh’s wheel. Is an attack imminent?

I wait, eyes trained on his legs, watching the way he sits on the saddle, counting the seconds ticking by while the truck draws steadily away. Any moment now…

And before I can begin to process it, it comes. Savage. Almost inhuman in its intensity. The burst of acceleration catches me off-guard. Oh, no! I’m about to get dropped!

But my body surprises me. Before I know it, I’m out of the saddle, sprinting all-out, barely clinging on to the draft. It feels like magic! My breath rattles in my chest as I feel a familiar sizzle in my legs. Vinesh glances out of the corner of his eye.

“I’m here!”

He returns to his hammering.

I sneak a peek at my Garmin. 54 kmph… 55… 56… When was the last time I saw these numbers on a flat stretch?

Vinesh glances back.

“Still here, dude.”

He finally slows down as we reach the slipstream of the truck. I crawl out from behind him, jubilant in spite of my heart threatening to tear itself apart , and cough,

“That-puff-puff-haack-brilliant!”

I’m getting there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

